And the Winner is... ZAPIRO


Sikuvile Awards Logo

Despite the judges' observation that the general standard of editorial cartoons has improved over the years, Jonathan Shapiro (pen named ZAPIRO) has once again emerged as the winner of a national award acknowledging his class after his cartoon was adjudicated to be the best by judges of the Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards (editorial cartoons category).

Zapiro has been the recipient of the award before, going back to its previous incarnation as part of the Mondi Shanduka Newspaper Awards.Zapiro Winning CartoonThe winning cartoon, featuring government spokesman Mac Maharaj at his 'Big Mac' Bribe-Thru, beat finalist cartoons by MILES ("Polar Bear") and SIWELA ("Corruption).

The judges noted that the standard of editorial cartooning in South Africa improves every year with most newspapers being home to at least one sophisticated editorial cartoon in each edition.

Their citation went on to say that "the major improvement has been to the quality of the draughtsmanship. The more difficult trick, making a sharp point while avoiding the obvious, is more elusive". For that reason, they said, "we have awarded first prize, yet again, to Jonathan Shapiro, for his still-unmatched ability to make barbed comment seem effortless".

Of finalist Themba Siwela, the judges remarked that he "manages to put the corruption scandals and what they actually mean to the man at the bottom of the pile in place. Although the draughtsmanship is basic, there is strength in (his) heavy, uncluttered line". The other finalist, Cuan Miles, "provided an interesting portfolio of well-executed drawings", they said.

The judging panel was made up of: Paula Fray (Convenor), Tyrone August, David Wightman, Liesl Louw, Tumi Makgabo, Peter Sullivan, Mike Siluma, Henry Jeffreys, Juby Mayet, Irwin Manoim, Gail Smith, Matthew Buckland, and Robin Comley.

Zapiro wins R15 000 for his efforts. Earlier this year, he was the recipient of the 2012 International Publishers Association Freedom To Publish Prize.

Also read: Standard Bank Announces Finalists for Sikuvile Journalism Award - Siwela, Miles and Zapiro vie for top award.

Posted on Sep 17, 2012 by Africartoons Bookmark and Share